top of page

Come to the Vineyard and help Roll the Raisins Together (this week Sep 18-20, 2023)

Jamie Hansen Vineyard Farm Manager recent communication:


Jamie has been monitoring the raisin drying, and based on his observations for rows 201-250 (Fresno, Fresno North, and Fresno West Stakes), grapes picked on Wednesday and Thursday, August 30-31, 2023, should be rolled late afternoon and until dark this coming Monday, September 18, 2023. Grapes picked on Friday, September 1, 2023, should be rolled on Tuesday, September 19, 2023, and grapes picked on Saturday, September 2, 2023 should be rolled on Wednesday, September 20, 2023. Based on this raisin rolling schedule, the rolling for rows 201-250 should be completed by Wednesday evening, September 20, 2023.


For the Merced, Fresno East, Hanford, Visalia and Porterville Stakes (rows 251-312), grapes picked on Wednesday and Thursday, September 6-7, 2019, should be rolled late afternoon and until dark on Monday, September 25, 2023. Grapes picked on Friday, September 8, 2023 should be rolled on Tuesday, September 26, 2023, and grapes picked on Saturday, September 9, 2023, should be rolled on Wednesday, September 27, 2023. Jamie will be monitoring the raisin drying and we will let you know if the rolling schedule needs to be adjusted based on weather conditions and other factors.


10 people per row should be able to complete a row in approximately one hour. The more help the better. Please do not roll the raisins if they are not yet dry. Use good judgement when rolling. There is a YouTube training video entitled, “Rolling Instructions – Jamie Hansen”, that should be viewed before going to the vineyard for the rolling assignments. This instructional video can be found through Google, or on the “Madera Raisin Vineyard” Facebook page. If not already a member of this Facebook page, please join.


Here is the CALENDAR of VINEYARD ACTIVITIES:

(Note: Ours is PICKING and goes from Wed Aug 30 - Sat Sep 2. Then we return to BOX on Wed Sept 27)

A scene of our activity rolling the grapes and laying them on the papers from LAST YEAR:

PARKING INStrUCTIONS:







14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page